Forum     

Go Back   Digit Technology Discussion Forum > News > Technology News
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology News News from the world of technology that our members stumble across. NOTE: Sources to be mentioned at the beginning of each post.


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24-06-2007, 09:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Distinguished Member
 
anandk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 3,783
Exclamation Beware of WinRAR.com !


If users wanted to download WinRAR, the popular archiver tool to process RAR and ZIP files, where would they go? Chances are, they’d type in the name of the tool itself and just add .com (www.winrar.com) in their browser’s address bar. Unbeknownst to them, however, the said site is not the official site from which the legitimate tool could be downloaded–that would be www.rarlab.com, actually.

When they click on “Download Winrar”, a link to "ench dot ircfast dot com" would appear. Finally, another Web page, wholly in French, would display 11 supposed versions of WinRAR... In truth, these are 11 files that are all detected by Trend Micro as trojan TROJ_STARTPA.QC. !!!

Source : http://blog.trendmicro.com/a-winrar-lose-situation/
__________________
> www.TheWindowsClub.com <
= www.WinVistaClub.com =
Microsoft® MVP
anandk is offline  
Advertisements. Register and be a member of the community to get rid of them.
Advertisement

Old 24-06-2007, 09:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
gooby pls
 
Third Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Not very far from you
Posts: 4,293
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

Thanks for the warning
__________________
:|
Third Eye is offline  
Old 24-06-2007, 09:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Broken In
 
virus_killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 144
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

Thanks for the information
__________________
Device: T-Mobile G1(black)
ROM: JF ADP1.5 Apps2sd
104 apps with 69 MB remaining
virus_killer is offline  
Old 24-06-2007, 09:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Stay Silent!
 
enticer86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: TD
Posts: 755
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

hey buddy thnx fr sharin
__________________
I saw me running,
'Twas a long, long run.
But the view was so stunning,
And that made it so much fun... ©
enticer86 is offline  
Old 24-06-2007, 09:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
BlackBerry Guru ! :)
 
BBThumbHealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Delhi , NCR
Posts: 1,270
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

thnx for warning ,,, but i use to download winrar from Rarlab.com only
__________________
Username Changed - BlackBerry7100g To BBThumbHealer ! :D
BBThumbHealer is offline  
Old 24-06-2007, 09:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Alpha Geek
 
sam_1710's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 755
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

oh... thanks for the warning !!
__________________
C2D E8400, MSI P45 Neo-F, Sapphire HD4850, Dell 2409W, OCZ 2*1GB RAM + 1*2GB Transcend + 1*1GB Transcend , Seagate 1TB + 2*Seagate 80GB, 600W SMPS, APC 600VA, Creative EP630, Sennheiser HD202 :)
sam_1710 is offline  
Old 24-06-2007, 09:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Microsoft MVP
 
Vishal Gupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: AskVG.com
Posts: 5,173
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

That site is there since ages and I wonder they found it now.
__________________
:arrow: http://www.AskVG.com/
Vishal Gupta is offline  
Old 24-06-2007, 10:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Dreamweaver
 
Gigacore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,904
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

i knew it, any way thanks for warning
__________________
Today's noobs are tomorrow's geeks. Don't make fun of them.. encourage them. - Gigacore

Follow me on twitter.com/gigacore
Gigacore is offline  
Old 25-06-2007, 10:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: close to mah pc
Posts: 55
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

thanks for the info mate...
bazigaar_no_1 is offline  
Old 25-06-2007, 11:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
 Macboy
 
goobimama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Goa
Posts: 4,486
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

Holy shite. I've been to this site! Don't know if I managed to download the virus, but its happened to me...
__________________
I'm like a bird... :)
goobimama is offline  
Old 25-06-2007, 11:39 AM   #11 (permalink)
Pawned!... Beyond GODLIKE
 
fun2sh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: World Of Warcraft -DOTA
Posts: 1,051
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

thanks mate for informin. KEEP IT UP
__________________
If God has indeed created Himself in His own image, then I submit to you that God is a cockroach :mrgreen:!!!!!!!!
fun2sh is offline  
Old 25-06-2007, 06:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Distinguished Member
 
anandk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 3,783
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

the site is old...the malware were added now and detected a week back by trendmicro...
__________________
> www.TheWindowsClub.com <
= www.WinVistaClub.com =
Microsoft® MVP
anandk is offline  
Old 25-06-2007, 06:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Alpha Geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 659
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

the best idea i give is to goto google and type the software u need..google stops such phishing stuff
magnet is offline  
Old 25-06-2007, 11:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
HELP AND SUPPORT
 
rakeshishere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,603
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

This phishing site is warned by Firefox by default

CLICK HERE FOR MORE
rakeshishere is offline  
Old 26-06-2007, 10:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
In To The World
 
netguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 79
Exclamation Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

thnx buddy
thanx 4 the information!!1
netguy is offline  
Old 27-06-2007, 05:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
ax3
Cool as a CUCUMBAR ! ! !
 
ax3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,052
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

nice info ........ thanx ........
ax3 is offline  
Old 29-06-2007, 12:38 AM   #17 (permalink)
Back on Earth .
 
hell_024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

ya...thnx for d info..
hell_024 is offline  
Old 29-06-2007, 12:52 AM   #18 (permalink)
Be CoOl rAp RuLeZ !!!
 
krates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,967
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

thanks for the info
__________________
iPhone 3G 16GB + Samsung I450 + Sennheiser CXL 400 + PSP Phat + Samsung NC10 :D

Previous phones: N73ME , W810I , Asus P320
krates is offline  
Old 29-06-2007, 05:09 AM   #19 (permalink)
Right Off the Assembly Line
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jaipur
Posts: 17
Default Re: Beware of WinRAR.com !

thnx 4 da info budddy
__________________
MY TECH BLOG - www.technicaltricks.blogspot.com
nobody.is.perfect.eME is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
beware of rainbowfc crazybutt Chit-Chat 7 16-08-2007 01:15 PM
Orkut-Beware of what u post iMav Random News 22 19-05-2007 08:59 AM
Hutch ppl BEWARE ! ! ! ax3 Random News 34 26-03-2007 10:52 PM

 
Latest Threads
- by chris
- by icebags
- by Tenida
- by Who

Advertisement




All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2