" Limit reservable bandwidth " --> ??

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: " Limit reservable bandwidth " --> ??

  1. #1
    Simply.. Evolution !! TheMost's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    540

    Default " Limit reservable bandwidth " --> ??

    Go to "Start" > "Run" and type "gpedit.msc." Navigate to "Administrative templates" > "Network" > "QoS packet scheduler" > "Limit reservable bandwidth" > "Enabled." Replace "20%" with "0%." Once you click "OK" and restart your computer, you will feel an immediate boost in the broadband speed
    .

    Juz came across this .. Wanted to know what this is about ..
    What are the effects of this ...
    Will this really help to free some more bytes ??
    Will this have effects on utorrent ??
    Popular Gadget Deals
    Help me Find My TV

    http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/tvs-monitors/181405-46-3d-tv-150k-gaming.html

  2. #2
    BIOS Terminator nims11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ranchi
    Posts
    977

    Default Re: " Limit reservable bandwidth " --> ??

    try it.
    i didnt observe any boost in my case.

  3. #3
    Living With Light gaurav.singh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Bhopal
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: " Limit reservable bandwidth " --> ??

    20% bandwidth is reserved for system eg. Windows update etc. This is the procedure to disable the reservation.

    I tried it but it didn't show any remarkable improvement.

  4. #4
    Human Spambot Zangetsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Soul Society
    Posts
    7,965

    Default Re: " Limit reservable bandwidth " --> ??

    @TheMost: the oldest tweak to gain speed...
    in windows by default 20% of total bandwidth is preserved for windows to download
    essential updates such as security & hotfixes.
    but its not mandatory to keep it 20% all the time thats y deallocating it to 0%.
    HTC One V | Nikon D3100 | Apple Ipod Touch 4G | SM ES18 | Casio Edifice EX106 | WD My Passport 1 TB | Seagate Backup Plus Slim 500GB

  5. #5
    Simply.. Evolution !! TheMost's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    540

    Default Re: " Limit reservable bandwidth " --> ??

    ^ no other complications rite ??
    Help me Find My TV

    http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/tvs-monitors/181405-46-3d-tv-150k-gaming.html

  6. #6
    Human Spambot Zangetsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Soul Society
    Posts
    7,965

    Default Re: " Limit reservable bandwidth " --> ??

    Quote Originally Posted by TheMost View Post
    ^ no other complications rite ??
    Not at all...
    HTC One V | Nikon D3100 | Apple Ipod Touch 4G | SM ES18 | Casio Edifice EX106 | WD My Passport 1 TB | Seagate Backup Plus Slim 500GB

  7. #7
    Simply.. Evolution !! TheMost's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    540

    Default Re: " Limit reservable bandwidth " --> ??

    ^tnx ... Will try....
    Will let know after i restart

    Now i am half-way ripping - will take 3 more hrs ..
    Help me Find My TV

    http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/tvs-monitors/181405-46-3d-tv-150k-gaming.html

  8. #8
    Penguins are stupid! tkin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kolkata, India
    Posts
    9,638

    Default Re: " Limit reservable bandwidth " --> ??

    This is dynamic, happens only when windows is downloading updates.
    Project Halcyon V3 - 2600k, Z68Vpro, Sapphire R9280X DualX, Vengeance 8GB
    Dell Inspiron 15R N5520- i3 3110M @ 2.4GHz, 6GB 1600MHz DDR3, HD 7670M
    Project Odeon V2 - LG G2, Panasonic FZ150, Razer Ferox, Razer Deathadder

  9. #9
    making future better Vyom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    3,957

    Default Re: " Limit reservable bandwidth " --> ??

    Well, changed the setting. Hoping it improves even a little bandwidth.
    My Nexus 7 and Guide to Rooting: http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/mobiles-tablets/178938-nexus-7-thread-rooting-dual-booting-ubuntu-touch-10-steps.html
    My Boring Website: http://vineetkumar.me | My not so boring FB Geek Page: www.fb.com/geeksworld

  10. #10
    Fast 'N' Furious topgear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Geek's Heaven
    Posts
    16,903
    ------- Moderated -------
    Who Dares Wins. No Retreat, No Surrender.
    ------- Moderated -------

  11. #11
    Simply.. Evolution !! TheMost's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    540

    Default Re: " Limit reservable bandwidth " --> ??

    ^ thanks

    -----

    No such boost !!
    Help me Find My TV

    http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/tvs-monitors/181405-46-3d-tv-150k-gaming.html

  12. #12
    Fast 'N' Furious topgear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Geek's Heaven
    Posts
    16,903

    Default Re: " Limit reservable bandwidth " --> ??

    ^^ you are welcome
    ------- Moderated -------
    Who Dares Wins. No Retreat, No Surrender.
    ------- Moderated -------

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23-07-2012, 04:17 PM
  2. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 28-12-2007, 09:06 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-10-2007, 02:11 PM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27-06-2007, 10:46 PM
  5. WindowsXPSP2: QoS >> Limit Reservable Bandwith
    By zenblue in forum Software Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-10-2004, 01:03 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Close