Forum     

Go Back   Digit Technology Discussion Forum > Portables, Peripherals and Electronics > QnA (read only)
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

QnA (read only) Mods please help transfer the contents of this forum to proper sections. :)


 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29-11-2007, 08:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
In The Zone
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 437
Default hi5:are these sites doing something else


well
i have seen many sites like hi5 which asks for username and password of email account(and users enter its easily) ..so is it legal...
we donot see any encryption being done ...or any secure layer..
so the password is known to site...

so are these sites legal...

who gurantees that these sites will not misuse the email address and even use the content of the email...

so whats latest status of this..
any legal things..

we have seen other sites like meebo..which also does similar to that..
__________________
be who u r :
Saharika is offline  
Advertisements. Register and be a member of the community to get rid of them.
Advertisement

Old 29-11-2007, 09:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
TheSaint
 
NucleusKore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Antigua
Posts: 3,447
Default Re: hi5:are these sites doing something else

While you enter your email as your login name, I suppose you can enter a DIFFERENT password. Have you tried?
For example, you can sign up for Google services without having a gmail account or use your existing email id for Microsoft's Passport. In both cases you do not have to use the same password as your email. Actually if you did you'd be real daft
__________________
http://www.neville.in
http://www.linuxrocks.in
"The Future Is Open"
NucleusKore is offline  
Old 29-11-2007, 09:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
In The Zone
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 437
Default Re: hi5:are these sites doing something else

Quote:
Originally Posted by NucleusKore
While you enter your email as your login name, I suppose you can enter a DIFFERENT password. Have you tried?
For example, you can sign up for Google services without having a gmail account or use your existing email id for Microsoft's Passport. In both cases you do not have to use the same password as your email. Actually if you did you'd be real daft
i think using diff password doesnt work in hi5 itself...
i have tried as well...
and by the way they import the address book of the email address that means the uses the real password...

and meebo itself ..login is done to as they say to use instant messenger so there is noway other password can work...

well to some extent big sites like google can be trusted..but these sites....some agree that they sell email address(address only) to big email senders for marketing...
__________________
be who u r :
Saharika is offline  
Old 29-11-2007, 11:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Human Spambot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lat 28.38°N , Longt 77.13°E
Posts: 2,431
Default Re: hi5:are these sites doing something else

They ask the password of your email account for checking if some of your friends are there on their network already or not . If one is there he is added to your friend list. They don't ask you to create the account on their site with the same password as that of your email account. If you don't want to disclose your email account password to them, you can skip this step as well, which I always do.
ThinkFree is offline  
Old 29-11-2007, 11:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
eWebGuru
 
ahref's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dehradun
Posts: 427
Default Re: hi5:are these sites doing something else

You need to enter actual password of your email id, they import address book and sent email to your contact.

You should read their privacy policy before doing that, but It is not good idea to give your password to third party.
__________________
Windows and linux hosting at http://www.ewebguru.com
Get $50 per blog post PM me for details.

Last edited by ahref; 29-11-2007 at 06:17 PM.
ahref is offline  
Old 29-11-2007, 12:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Alpha Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 543
Default Re: hi5:are these sites doing something else

^^ True, thats how the system works. After accessing the contacts in an account they send mass emails like "your friend has joined our network, dont u wanna join them"
cool_techie_tvm is offline  
Old 29-11-2007, 02:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
TheSaint
 
NucleusKore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Antigua
Posts: 3,447
Default Re: hi5:are these sites doing something else

Really, I will never sign up for such a site. Thanks I learnt something new
__________________
http://www.neville.in
http://www.linuxrocks.in
"The Future Is Open"
NucleusKore is offline  
Old 29-11-2007, 06:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
In The Zone
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 437
Default Re: hi5:are these sites doing something else

yes ..actually emotions gets higher than brain...

somebody sends ivitation in mail with some ..photos and then the user is gradually attracted towards it and dont bother reputation of site before entering any thing...

these kind of issue is not outraised as the person who doesnt think for second time..before enetering email address ..has nothing big in his/her email ...(so nothing to lose...i have not seen paypal user entering his/her email address so easily) ...

but any way there is some game going around there...beside intention to earn something from adsense....

i suggest user to open a new account...(somemight say it is misuse..but in reality it works..) and use that account..to get into the social network enviroment...(i am not talking about faking ...real but different add than ..you use for common work...)

that seems to be only safe way ..if things cannot be avoided...

thanks for replies
__________________
be who u r :
Saharika is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pls name some WAP sites Pravas Mobiles and Tablets 1 04-05-2007 07:09 PM
Best Wap/web Sites radioactive Mobiles and Tablets 5 03-02-2007 02:45 PM
Wap sites Official Techie Mobiles and Tablets 17 25-03-2006 12:35 AM

 
Latest Threads
- by topgear
- by abhidev
- by clmlbx
- by Sarath

Advertisement




All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2