How to block website using regedit

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How to block website using regedit

  1. #1
    Right Off the Assembly Line
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Rajkot
    Posts
    3

    Default How to block website using regedit

    Hi all,


    I want ti ask all u master mind is that is there any solution on website blocking using regedit without using any soft.

    I want to know how to block certian website using regedit.

    Thanx

    Dinesh
    Popular Gadget Deals

  2. #2
    Coming back to life .. it_waaznt_me's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    A bit closer to heaven
    Posts
    2,004

    Default

    I assume you use Internet Explorer and want to block some website from being accessed on your computer. For this you can use Content Advisor.
    In IE, Do this :
    Tools > Internet Options
    Click on Content tab.
    In the Content Advisor frame, click on Enable.
    Now in the Approved sites tab, you can manage the websites that you want to block or approve to the users.
    And on the General tab, set a Supervisor Password so that only you can change the settings.

    Here is a screenshot :
    Sleight of hand and twist of fate...
    On a bed of nails she makes me wait...
    And I wait without you ...
    With or without you ..
    ----
    Batty = Too Busy Now !!!

  3. #3
    Right Off the Assembly Line
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Rajkot
    Posts
    3

    Default How to block website using regedit

    But i want to do it by regedit these settings are cooman to all user i want
    block it by using regedit.

    Thankx

  4. #4
    Coming back to life .. it_waaznt_me's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    A bit closer to heaven
    Posts
    2,004

    Default

    Those settings are common to all users.
    Sleight of hand and twist of fate...
    On a bed of nails she makes me wait...
    And I wait without you ...
    With or without you ..
    ----
    Batty = Too Busy Now !!!

  5. #5
    Apprentice shoegoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    !~The World~!
    Posts
    96

    Default

    There a way to block websites through registry? Wow.. never heard of that..

    If you block a web in registry(IF POSSIBLE), doent it mean that your IE rejects that domain(IF). Even so, you can access the website through other browsers that works without ie engine.. like ff..i dont think imposing a registry value can control all the browsers. dont they have different agents?.....

  6. #6
    Commander in Chief QwertyManiac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6,657

    Default

    Some viruses do that I guess, to block access to anti-viruse sites... I dont know how...
    Harsh J
    www.harshj.com

  7. #7
    In Pursuit of "Happyness" kalpik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    3,417

    Default

    ^^ They use "hosts" file..
    Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect. - Mark Twain

  8. #8
    Commander in Chief QwertyManiac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6,657

    Default

    Oh ok, I thought it was registry
    Harsh J
    www.harshj.com

Similar Threads

  1. How to block a Website adress permanently?
    By ithehappy in forum Internet & WWW
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 22-07-2013, 02:56 PM
  2. How to Block Website without any Software
    By dhanusaud in forum Tutorials
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 12-05-2008, 10:29 PM
  3. block regedit change
    By DR RANJAN in forum QnA (read only)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-12-2007, 03:43 PM
  4. How TO Block Website
    By krates in forum QnA (read only)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-04-2007, 07:31 AM
  5. how to block a website
    By prashantban in forum QnA (read only)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21-10-2006, 12:16 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Close