Forum     

Go Back   Digit Technology Discussion Forum > Portables, Peripherals and Electronics > QnA (read only)
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

QnA (read only) Mods please help transfer the contents of this forum to proper sections. :)


 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14-03-2006, 05:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Alpha Geek
 
The Incredible's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Planet Incredible
Posts: 579
Default RECEIVED $200 FROM MSN TRANSFER SERVICE


Recently I got following mails. What are these??

First Mail

Heading - YOU RECEIVED $200 FROM MSN TRANSFER SERVICE
MSN Online Transfer Service
<transfer-service@msn.com> to MSN
Mar 11 (3 days ago)
From: MSN Online Transfer Service <transfer-service@msn.com> Mailed-By: server23.miyi-hosting.com
To: MSN Online Transfer Service <msn.transfer.id-28132@msn.com>
Date: Mar 11, 2006 2:42 PM
Subject: YOU RECEIVED $200 FROM MSN TRANSFER SERVICE
MSN.com - Saturday March 11 2006
---------------------------------------------------------

You received this e-mail because someone sent you $200 through MSN Online Transfer Service. To pick up your money, please click here:

http://www.msn.com/?page=transfer&ac...81029831728143

Sincerely,
The MSN.com staff




Mail 2




Heading - You received $200 from MSN
MSN Online Transfer Service
<OnlineTransfer@msn.com> to MSN
Mar 12 (2 days ago)
From: MSN Online Transfer Service <OnlineTransfer@msn.com> Mailed-By: server2.rittertech.com
To: MSN Online Transfer Service <msn.transfer.id-21837@msn.com>
Date: Mar 12, 2006 5:57 PM
Subject: You received $200 from MSN

MSN.com - Saturday March 11 2006
---------------------------------------------------------

You received this e-mail because someone sent you $200 through MSN Online Transfer Service. To pick up your money, please click here:

http://www.msn.com/?page=transfer&ac...81029831728143

Sincerely,
The MSN.com staff




So anyone having any idea what is it?
The Incredible is offline  
Advertisements. Register and be a member of the community to get rid of them.
Advertisement

Old 14-03-2006, 09:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Manipal
Posts: 76
Default

looks like spam to me....

If u remember, MSN is from microsoft, who will never 'give' money like that..

I got a mail few days before saying i got 100000 Euros.... Just delete it, i u dont want 110 spam msgs everyday
__________________
A man needs a certain amount of madness to cut the rope and set him free...
mvishnu is offline  
Old 15-03-2006, 11:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
In The Zone
 
hafees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kerala
Posts: 405
Default

This is surely spam. Look in the url more carefully. What they actually do is uses msn to redirect to some spam site.
__________________
Quitters Never Win & Winners Never Quit!
hafees is offline  
Old 15-03-2006, 05:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Right Off the Assembly Line
 
navraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: India
Posts: 22
Default

Somebody is spoofing. Just delete these emails. Spammers send out thousands of emails to the accounts which their spiders gather from the web. These spammers use images to test which account is valid. If you open the mail, an image will open up which will be linked to the id allocated to your email. In this way, they will get to know which email ids exist and then they will spam you more.
So next time you get such a lucrative email, just delete it before opening.
Gmail and some other service providers do not allow remote images. This is just to counter this technique used by spammers.
__________________
Navraj Singh
navraj is offline  
Old 15-03-2006, 11:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Indian by heart
 
planetcall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 343
Default

I suggest you always view your emails with full headers.
__________________
प्रासादशिखरेऽपि सन्न काको गरुडायते ॥
No matter how high a fool may rise, he remains a fool -RigVeda
planetcall is offline  
Old 15-03-2006, 11:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Right Off the Assembly Line
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
Default

Can anyone define me whats the use of sending the mails like dat???
tuluvaguy is offline  
Old 15-03-2006, 11:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
In The Zone
 
puja399's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 324
Default

@The Incredible
I think we deserve a party from u!!!
puja399 is offline  
Old 16-03-2006, 02:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
El mooooo
 
eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: India
Posts: 1,414
Default

These are phishing[1] mails. The links given on which you have to click to pick your money are linked to some 3rd party pages using redirector services like iredirector. Once you reach the third party page, they ask you personal details like your back account number/IDs/passwords etc to deposit the money in your account. If you give it to them...well...you know the rest of the part

[1] http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/p/phishing.html
eddie is offline  
Old 16-03-2006, 07:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
The pWnster
 
Vyasram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Karaikudi,TN
Posts: 841
Default

Dont reply to those emails or ur inbox will get filled with hundreds of them
__________________
Sigs suck
Vyasram is offline  
Old 16-03-2006, 07:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Broken In
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: DreamLand
Posts: 158
Default

adding to what others said...No one is gonna give you money for free. So now you know this mail goes to trash
__________________
In the keyboard of life, always keep a
finger on the ESC key
shyam911 is offline  
Old 16-03-2006, 09:38 PM   #11 (permalink)
Alpha Geek
 
The Incredible's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Planet Incredible
Posts: 579
Default

mad just click on d link its not redirecting and btw, i also know how to deal with such e-mails but why will sum1 link me 2 msn.com

i think its bill gates trick to bring traffic on their site
The Incredible is offline  
Old 18-03-2006, 10:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Broken In
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 127
Default

looks like normal msn pages though. Wat really is it?
vinayasurya is offline  
Old 18-03-2006, 11:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
Beware of the innocent
 
ilugd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,024
Default

Incredible, that was funny. Bill Gates must be in very serious trouble.

I think navraj is right. It is just a ploy to check out which ids are active so that they can be spammed further.
ilugd is offline  
Old 19-03-2006, 09:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
The pWnster
 
Vyasram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Karaikudi,TN
Posts: 841
Default

I recently got some mails like this which made me blive that , they were sent by ebay. Thank god, my ebay toolbar told that it was spam, had i logged into that duplicate ebay with my user id/password, my bank account would have been empty by now
__________________
Sigs suck
Vyasram is offline  
Old 20-03-2006, 01:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
The Researcher
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,122
Default

These are phishing mails. Just ignore them and use spam filters.
Ramakrishnan is offline  
Old 20-03-2006, 02:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Alpha Geek
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 517
Default

What happens when u click on the link ?
__________________
\" I Do not like to repeat success , i like to move on to other things \"
mako_123 is offline  
Old 20-03-2006, 02:09 PM   #17 (permalink)
Beware of the innocent
 
ilugd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,024
Default

Try it. It just goes to msn
ilugd is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 
Latest Threads
- by clmlbx

Advertisement




All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2