Forum     

Go Back   Digit Technology Discussion Forum > Portables, Peripherals and Electronics > QnA (read only)
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

QnA (read only) Mods please help transfer the contents of this forum to proper sections. :)


 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14-03-2006, 05:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Alpha Geek
 
The Incredible's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Planet Incredible
Posts: 579
Default Raaga.com


Hi!

Recently found this site. It plays songs while being online. Well so how does this works? Does it d/l temp song files, if yes, then is it possible that the site d/l a virus alongwith d file as well?? is it safe to use.

and btw is it legal to listen on such sites?
The Incredible is offline  
Advertisements. Register and be a member of the community to get rid of them.
Advertisement

Old 14-03-2006, 05:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Researcher
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,122
Default

many such sites exist. they use Real audio format because it plays much faster because of its small size. But they lack the quality of MP3s. There is nothing illegal in listening to such sites.
Ramakrishnan is offline  
Old 16-03-2006, 07:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Broken In
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: DreamLand
Posts: 158
Default

i beg to differ. The quality is quite good with real media formats. BTW they use a real player plugin but i am sure they're streaming mp3's.

And i dont think its illlegal in listening to songs from these sites.
__________________
In the keyboard of life, always keep a
finger on the ESC key
shyam911 is offline  
Old 16-03-2006, 07:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
18 Till I Die............
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
Posts: 5,792
Default

Raaga is a legal site. I have been listening to songs there from last year or so. Their sound quality isn't very good but their features are ehat I like very much.
You can see at the bottom of the page
Quote:
Raaga.com is an officially licensed IPRS website.
.
So no doubt about it being legal.
It is completely safe to use. No viruses or other malware is there AFAICR.
It serves media in realmedia format, that is why it checks for real player on your computer.
__________________
http://www.bash.org/?258908
mehulved is offline  
Old 16-03-2006, 11:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
El mooooo
 
eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: India
Posts: 1,414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shyam911
...but i am sure they're streaming mp3's.
No. Such sites use WMA or Real Media cos both of them maintain reasonable quality even at high compressions. MP3s will sound horrible once you go below 96kbps and I have listened to these sites even at 32kbps speeds. Another such site is musicindiaonline.com.
eddie is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 
Latest Threads
- by clmlbx

Advertisement




All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2