Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

  1. #1
    Banned tharun518's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    forgotforum.com
    Posts
    15

    Default Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    Change your modem password immediately. If someone knows your I.P address they can access your modem site. If your default is admin please change it. They will be asked for password. If they enter they can restart the modem deactivate wireless change settings and all the things that we do. You can know this by type your I.P in browser when typed the mode site open’s.

    Visit this to get more details. Access other's computer using a gussed I.P. (Bsnl dataone.)
    Last edited by tharun518; 17-05-2007 at 06:57 PM.
    Popular Gadget Deals

  2. #2
    Rebooting Choto Cheeta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    220.225.82.33
    Posts
    6,202

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    If someone knows your I.P address they can access your modem site
    I doubt that, I have tried that, unless u configre it to get accessed, by default u may not have access....
    rebooting
    ChotoCheeta.com

  3. #3
    Host4Cheap.org Sukhdeep Singh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Digit Forum
    Posts
    2,074

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    192.168.1.1 on your PC will show you *your*router page. Entering anyone else's IP will not connect unless he has some Webserver like Apache running on it.
    ★ Want to start your Website, No worries - here is how ★
    http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/showthread.php?t=66717

    ★ Host4Cheap - cPanel Webhosting & Reseller Plans ★
    http://www.host4cheap.org/

  4. #4
    In Pursuit of "Happyness" kalpik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    3,417

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    ^^ But the router runs an HTTP server.. But for that to work, you need to enable remote administration, which is enabled by default on Airtel routers, dunno about BSNL/MTNL ones..
    Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect. - Mark Twain

  5. #5
    * Teh Flirt King * Quiz_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Originally From : Ratlam M.P., Currently in: Hyderabad
    Posts
    974

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    Quote Originally Posted by Choto Cheeta
    I doubt that, I have tried that, unless u configre it to get accessed, by default u may not have access....
    No that guy is right....
    I just tried it from my Dad's office...
    I can really change my password and other settings from there...
    And I am using default config. for my modem...
    With default password admin.
    Its wierd.
    Suggestion : Change ur admin password immediatly...Even if u r sure u r secured. Just for precaution.

    Edit : Just Changed my Password. Now I feel more secured

    Quote Originally Posted by sukhdeepsinghkohli
    192.168.1.1 on your PC will show you *your*router page. Entering anyone else's IP will not connect unless he has some Webserver like Apache running on it.
    Well i tried 50 random ip addresses after reading this post.
    All like this - 59.**.**.**
    And 12 of them worked. and I was given access to all their settings. Ofcourse I didn't done anything wrong with settings. (Althought I wanted to Just for fun.. ).

    And I doubt they have any web servers running.
    So basically if I know the IP and and the person whose IP is this have not changed the default pass. I can manipulate his router setings easily.
    It's for BSNL dunno about Airtel.
    Last edited by Quiz_Master; 16-05-2007 at 02:49 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
    World is just a Quizzical Reality : Quiz_Master//Ashwin

    Blog: [URL="http://ashwinsaxena.com/blog"]http://ashwinsaxena.com/blog[/URL] - Tech, Life and Other Things.

  6. #6
    Host4Cheap.org Sukhdeep Singh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Digit Forum
    Posts
    2,074

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    Very strange, if i enter someone else IP in my browser, it doesnt connect. I am on Airtel
    ★ Want to start your Website, No worries - here is how ★
    http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/showthread.php?t=66717

    ★ Host4Cheap - cPanel Webhosting & Reseller Plans ★
    http://www.host4cheap.org/

  7. #7
    In Pursuit of "Happyness" kalpik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    3,417

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    ^^ Give me your IP, and ill show you how to connect
    Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect. - Mark Twain

  8. #8
    left this forum longback praka123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    -
    Posts
    7,513

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    with a proper FW(iptables),how can anyone access my dataone router?
    I think no chance!
    left this forum long back.Admin Can Delete this Account and posts Permanantly.Thank You
    Get GNU/Linux - http://getgnulinux.org

  9. #9
    -- No Easter Eggs here -- hemant_mathur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Front of my pc
    Posts
    945

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    It works on mtnl routers also.
    E6850 3.0 Ghz, 4gb 667 Mhz RAM, Asus p5n Esli Mobo, Nvidia 8600GT 512mb, 400gb WD HDD, Samsung Syncmaster 920NW, Vista x64

  10. #10
    ToTheBeatOfUrHeart Harvik780's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Boston,Newyork
    Posts
    1,866

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    What's this modem password??I only use the BSNL username password(default changed).Can anyone tell me how to change the password for the modem.
    Mobo - P5N32-E SLI,P5N-E SLI|GFX - 2x8800GTS,8800GT|Processor - E6550,E6600|PSU - CM EP 600,HX620W|Physics - 2x8600GT

  11. #11
    In Pursuit of "Happyness" kalpik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    3,417

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    Quote Originally Posted by praka123
    with a proper FW(iptables),how can anyone access my dataone router?
    I think no chance!
    Its actually a feature through which ISPs can troubleshoot modem problems remotely.. So yes, anyone CAN access your modem if you still have the default username/password..
    Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect. - Mark Twain

  12. #12
    * Teh Flirt King * Quiz_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Originally From : Ratlam M.P., Currently in: Hyderabad
    Posts
    974

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    Quote Originally Posted by Harvik780
    What's this modem password??I only use the BSNL username password(default changed).Can anyone tell me how to change the password for the modem.
    If u haven't changed the default one yet. Do this...

    Type 192.168.1.1 in ur choice of browser. In the password box type admin as user id and password.

    Your Modems page will open up.
    Look for administration tab (Or any similar looking tab, it depends on ur modem model.) there you can edit password for admin. U cant change ur username. (Atleast I am not able to do this.) but you can add more users and assign them rights.

    Quote Originally Posted by sukhdeepsinghkohli
    Very strange, if i enter someone else IP in my browser, it doesnt connect. I am on Airtel
    Well you just can't connect to any random ip. I tried 50 randoms and got onlt 12 connected.

    or maybe its not possible in airtel...
    Last edited by Quiz_Master; 16-05-2007 at 07:57 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
    World is just a Quizzical Reality : Quiz_Master//Ashwin

    Blog: [URL="http://ashwinsaxena.com/blog"]http://ashwinsaxena.com/blog[/URL] - Tech, Life and Other Things.

  13. #13
    Human Spambot kumarmohit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Riding an Oliphaunt
    Posts
    2,165

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    Heck ! I never thought this was possiible, Changed the password, thanks.
    The real and only freedom is Public Domain. Everything else in unfree! Even those who claim to be the self styled evangelists of freedom are not free because freedom cannot be forced by any means!

  14. #14
    ToTheBeatOfUrHeart Harvik780's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Boston,Newyork
    Posts
    1,866

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    Quote Originally Posted by Quiz_Master
    If u haven't changed the default one yet. Do this...

    Type 192.168.1.1 in ur choice of browser. In the password box type admin as user id and password.

    Your Modems page will open up.
    Look for administration tab (Or any similar looking tab, it depends on ur modem model.) there you can edit password for admin. U cant change ur username. (Atleast I am not able to do this.) but you can add more users and assign them rights.



    Well you just can't connect to any random ip. I tried 50 randoms and got onlt 12 connected.

    or maybe its not possible in airtel...
    Thanks quizmaster for replying but the address u gave does not open in vista's internet explorer 7.Is it right or there's a problem with IE 7.
    Mobo - P5N32-E SLI,P5N-E SLI|GFX - 2x8800GTS,8800GT|Processor - E6550,E6600|PSU - CM EP 600,HX620W|Physics - 2x8600GT

  15. #15
    The No.1 Stupid ~Phenom~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    CYBERYARD
    Posts
    1,705

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    I have exactly same condition as harvik780 except I m using FF2.0 someone help....
    n00b forever...

  16. #16
    Livin' in the ghetto AshishSharma's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Hmm .... Home
    Posts
    309

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    That should mean that ur modem has a different IP address... r u using BSNL ?
    ~.~ Never argue with idiots, they just drag you down to their level then beat you with experience. ~.~

  17. #17
    The No.1 Stupid ~Phenom~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    CYBERYARD
    Posts
    1,705

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    ^^yes I have BSNL Dataone 900 UL Plan.
    n00b forever...

  18. #18
    Host4Cheap.org Sukhdeep Singh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Digit Forum
    Posts
    2,074

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    Very strange. Even entering my own IP wont show anything. Only entering 192.168.1.1 will show me router page.

    This is a interesting topic
    ★ Want to start your Website, No worries - here is how ★
    http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/showthread.php?t=66717

    ★ Host4Cheap - cPanel Webhosting & Reseller Plans ★
    http://www.host4cheap.org/

  19. #19
    ToTheBeatOfUrHeart Harvik780's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Boston,Newyork
    Posts
    1,866

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    Well I have the Sterlite Quidway WA1003A router/modem.
    Mobo - P5N32-E SLI,P5N-E SLI|GFX - 2x8800GTS,8800GT|Processor - E6550,E6600|PSU - CM EP 600,HX620W|Physics - 2x8600GT

  20. #20
    Wandering in time... Ankur Gupta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Delhi,India
    Posts
    1,293

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    Well a bit of the topic but MTNL is a damn fool...
    The CA number they allocate is similar to the telephone number..
    It is simple to formulate if you have someone's telephone number..
    And CA no. is the default password that is issued to all new broadband connections..
    So just get the phone number and you have his broadband account
    Integrate Yourself With The Latest Happenings.....
    www.ankur-gupta.com/blog

  21. #21
    Shalu_Sharma
    Guest

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    Hmmm... 192.168.1.1 is working fine for me...

    But in case its not working for you there is a little solution.

    If you look in the manual which came with your modem you can see there how to configure your modem. There you can also see the ip address of your modem.

    And yeah thankls for the tip. Just changed my password.

  22. #22
    -- No Easter Eggs here -- hemant_mathur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Front of my pc
    Posts
    945

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    While we are the topic of changing the modem password .. does any one know how reset that password if one forgets it ?
    E6850 3.0 Ghz, 4gb 667 Mhz RAM, Asus p5n Esli Mobo, Nvidia 8600GT 512mb, 400gb WD HDD, Samsung Syncmaster 920NW, Vista x64

  23. #23
    Banned tharun518's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    forgotforum.com
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    I posted this topic. To get answer to your question how hacker access computer visit Access other's computer using a gussed I.P. (Bsnl dataone.)

    Quote Originally Posted by sukhdeepsinghkohli
    192.168.1.1 on your PC will show you *your*router page. Entering anyone else's IP will not connect unless he has some Webserver like Apache running on it.
    No this is worong to see how please visit Access other's computer using a gussed I.P. (Bsnl dataone.)
    Last edited by tharun518; 17-05-2007 at 06:59 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  24. #24
    Banned tharun518's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    forgotforum.com
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    I hope all have changed the password.

  25. #25
    left this forum longback praka123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    -
    Posts
    7,513

    Smile Re: Argent alert change your modem password immediately. (BSNL Dataone)

    ^no,many are unaware!!!!
    left this forum long back.Admin Can Delete this Account and posts Permanantly.Thank You
    Get GNU/Linux - http://getgnulinux.org


Similar Threads

  1. How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?
    By Krow in forum Broadband and DTH
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 04-11-2011, 12:53 PM
  2. Need info on BSNL DataOne modem
    By aritrap in forum Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-03-2009, 06:21 PM
  3. Reset of Dataone Modem ?? coz i forgot password
    By a_k_s_h_a_y in forum Software Q&A
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16-11-2007, 04:45 PM
  4. Bsnl Dataone Modem Help
    By saiaspire in forum Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20-05-2006, 02:14 AM
  5. BSNL dataone....incoming call alert!!!!!!!
    By vijay_v in forum Broadband and DTH
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 26-07-2005, 07:12 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Close