Forum     

Go Back   Digit Technology Discussion Forum > Bandwidth Wastage > Chit-Chat
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Chit-Chat General discussions about anything that doesn't fit into the other sections to be had here


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2010, 09:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
In The Zone
 
cute.bandar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 408
Default Is this site safe


IF I go on to https://www.standardchartered.co.in/...istration.html , i get a error in Opera
Quote:
servers certificate does not match the hostname .
even google chrome gives some kind of warning .
what it means? has the site been hacked or something ?
cute.bandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisements. Register and be a member of the community to get rid of them.
Advertisement

Old 04-06-2010, 09:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Welbeck fan :D
 
XTerminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 79
Default Re: Is this site safe

XTerminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 09:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Married!
 
Rahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Is this site safe

^Dont laugh, i too got that warning in FF/Opera/IE8 with my banking payment. I held my breathe and went on with it and then confirmed with the bank whether the transaction went through safely. They confirmed it positively.
__________________
|| GNU/Linux User || PCLOS KDE 4.6 || 17" DELL Studio ||

topdocumentaryfilms.com
Rahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 09:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
In The Zone
 
cute.bandar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 408
Default Re: Is this site safe

so why are there such errors with banking sites in india ?
cute.bandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 10:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Canon 1000D
 
astroutkarsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 79
Default Re: Is this site safe

Its not in india. It just a poor web coding. There might be a link or an image/tracking code etc on this page (Page on which you will going to pay etc) which either does not have valid URL tracking code or "http" linking.
IE will not show this warning / error. But FF & Opera will show this error.
Its not big issue, but if you are not sure about your safety by doing payment online, DON't DO IT.
__________________
Canon 1000D + 18-55 + 50mm f/1.8 + 55-250 IS :-)
astroutkarsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
In Pursuit of "Happyness"
 
kalpik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,432
Default Re: Is this site safe

Quote:
Originally Posted by XTerminator_09 View Post
Please refrain from posting in a thread if you have nothing to contribute.
__________________
Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect. - Mark Twain
kalpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 02:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Married!
 
Rahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Is this site safe

Quote:
Originally Posted by astroutkarsh View Post
IE will not show this warning / error. But FF & Opera will show this error.
I got that error in IE 8 in XP; maybe IE6 might not give the error.
Quote:
Its not big issue, but if you are not sure about your safety by doing payment online, DON't DO IT.
I had to pay Central Excise Duty which is compulsorily to be paid through e-payment. So i have no choice but to risk it.
__________________
|| GNU/Linux User || PCLOS KDE 4.6 || 17" DELL Studio ||

topdocumentaryfilms.com
Rahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mcp site not accessible techx Chit-Chat 15 17-05-2008 04:01 PM
Please suggest - Opensource / Free / Non-MS file sharing site din Open Source 17 22-04-2008 01:45 PM
Need review// My New Site // Download videos from Video sharing site like YouTube ravi_9793 Chit-Chat 8 12-03-2008 01:20 AM
How To Make This Type Of Site ? vivekrules QnA (read only) 8 10-02-2008 08:50 PM
Most Wanted PC Games - 2007 thunderbird.117 Gamerz 38 15-03-2007 04:58 PM

 
Latest Threads
- by bhaskar
- by Soumik
- by trublu

Advertisement




All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2